Home > Uncategorized > Update and Happy New Year

Update and Happy New Year


Hello to every one of my regular followers and new readers! So sorry it has been so long since I updated my postings, a lot happening lately – most of which has been good. I did recently have a biliary stent replacement and developed acute pancreatitis as a result of it, so spent last couple of days in the hospital. Bummer way to spend New Years’ Eve I tell you!

I just wanted to touch base and say I am working on a new article on – what else – biliary stenting and the complications that come with it. Need to finish some research before I am ready to post so keep an eye out, I will post soon.

I wish everyone a Happy and Healthy New Year in 2011. I have been awed by the tremendous outpouring of support from the blog community, patients and caregivers alike. It is very humbling and I am so glad my posts, articles and links have been a help to so many. Thank you!
Mark

  1. January 3, 2011 at 08:53

    You speak from your heart Mark and touch many people. Some people are lucky enough to call you friend.
    Becky

  2. Kristen
    January 11, 2011 at 23:01

    Hi Mark,

    I saw your 1 yr anniversary post about a month ago. Congrats on that and I’d love to hear more about what you’re doing. I’m sorry you’re dealing with those complications now, ugh…I can’t imagine.

    My mom was diagnosed with CC at the end of July. She’s considered to be in stage 3, which is not typical-I guess. Originally, we thought she was in an earlier stage. Therefore, I was going to be her live liver donor on Dec. 1st. Horrifically, they found a malignant lymph node during the surgery and it was immediately aborted.

    Prior to the surgery my mom underwent chemo and radiation for 3 wks. She had a CT scan last Monday and got her results yesterday. Thankfully, her tumor markers are down but they told her on average people will live with this disease for a YEAR. We are going to get a second opinion soon and are still deciding where. I’ve been doing a lot of research on cancer and nutrition and I’m curious if you have used that as apart of your treatment.

    Thanks for listening. Here’s my mom’s CaringBridge account if you’re interested in her story in more detail.

    http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/carolbullerman/journal

    Thank you for sharing, being so open, and I love your pearls of life!

    Kindly,
    Kristen

    • January 12, 2011 at 13:47

      Hello Kristen: Thank you for your kind note and sharing your mom’s Caring Bridge link. I was on her sight today and she is a very brave woman. She is also lucky to have such a wonderful, beautiful family.

      I am not sure where she went to for her surgery or initial consults, but I highly recommend a second opinion. I have listed several centers which are world-class cancer centers and see a high number of CCA patients. You can also check the Reference tab on my main page or go to the Cholangiocarcinoma Foundation Web Site which is listed on the Resources tab.

      Please let me know if I can be of any further assistance. – Mark

  3. Charlie
    February 15, 2011 at 18:21

    Mark
    Im a surgeon in the Uk that treats patient like yourself with Cholangiocarcinoma. Im really touched by the way u write and the strength that u demonstrate in putting this together. I hope u go on from strength to strength and if ever i can be of any use in terms of medical information please ask me. Also i would encourage u to recommend people to seek resection or aggressive treatment as much as possible and if turned down by one unit always to seek a second opinion as u have done. My utter respect Charlie

    • February 21, 2011 at 13:53

      Dr. Charlie:
      Thank you for your kind comments, but most importantly thank you for the work you do in treating patients suffering from cholangiocarcinomas. It is such a rare disease and so difficult to raise awareness of it in the medical community and among the general public. Together we can keep trying to raise the level of awareness and increase research in how to successfully treat and eventually cure this disease. Cheers!
      – Mark

  4. March 15, 2011 at 10:31

    Hello Charlie,

    Thank you for reaching out to Mark!

    I would love to get in touch with you to talk about some of the patients you’ve seen and some of the treatments you’ve given.

    My mom has inoperable bile duct cancer and they said there is suspicion of it spreading on her last scan.

    Here’s her blog as well-http://www.caringbridge.org/visit/carolbullerman/journal

    You can contact me @ kbullerman@gmail.com I’d appreciate your help. Thank you for your time.

    Kristen Bullerman

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

